Aquatics Reveiw

1.On the 29th of February and the 1st of March the year 5,6,7, but on Mrs. Guinan class were doing Beach Safety Day so they weren’t doing the same things as we were. The rest of the year 6/7’s had a choice from multiple activities like Snorkelling, Fishing, Surfing,
Kayaking, Wave-skiing e.c.t. We did these activities at he Port Noarlunga Surf Life Saving Club and some of the activities were done along the Onkarparinga River. The reason we did this is because we could experience all different activities and so we can connect our learning that we have been doing to do with the JASON program. 2.The first day of Aquatics went like this- Everyone arrived at school as usual but we were all putting on sunscreen and were wearing casual clothes. 8:55 the bell rang we did the roll as normal and we then headed to the bus and when we got on the bus we drove to Port Noarlunga. When we arrived we sat down on the decking and the director talked to us using a megaphone. He told us where we had to meet our instructors for our activities, my first activity was fishing the people in my group were Callum, Kye , Kieran, Declan and Nikita. On the first day we fished at on the Onkarparinga river and caught 4 fish 3 of those fish were Brim and 1 of were Mullet but on the second day we only caught 1 Brim. Once our time was over with the instructors we headed back from the river. When we arrived back we had to put our rods back and get ready for our next activity. For my need activity I needed to put on a wetsuit because for my next activity I was doing surfing. Once I put my wetsuit on we lined up at the surfing teardrop flag, where we meet our instructor. After we meet our new group we set off on the journey to Southport where we did our surfing, we had to go to Southport because the waves were bigger down there. Once we arrived at Southport we chose a surfboard and practised paddling and getting up. Once we finished practising we went into the water and tried putting our learning to effect but for some like me it didn’t quite work that easy. When the perfect waves came I was finally able to catch a total of 2 waves both I felt pretty proud of myself. Once our lesson was over we put our surfboard back on the beach and the walked back to the surf club. When we arrived we had to take off our wetsuits and wash them out, then hang them back on the racks. When we had put our wetsuits back we were allowed to have our lunch but at lunch time we moved over to under the palm trees instead of out in the sun light we were at least shaded a little. 3. My opinion on Fishing is that it was good I learnt how to cast properly. The thing I could of improved on is catching more fish but you can’t control if the fish bite so🐟. I would probably do fishing again next time because it was really enjoyable but the best part is when you catch a fish.

Harry B

20160302-222217.jpg

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *